Planning for Adventures

For the past couple of weeks I have been feverishly planning for our family’s next big adventure. We will be heading out for Maui and Kauai soon. We are going as a large family and friend group to celebrate and remember my husband’s wonderful sister, Becki Sanders, who passed away suddenly last July. Her death was extremely painful and hard to accept for all of us, and while we visit the places that she loved we hope to find a sense of peace. We will be spreading her ashes off the coast and I hope that it goes smoothly and without any painful mishaps. Becki – you are loved and missed by so many.

While in Maui we hope to hike the Waihee Valley trail where there are two suspension bridges crossing a creek. It seems like just the kind of adventure that I want go on. We also hope to see and possibly swim with some dolphins like Becki did on her last trip to Maui. Other than that we will probably try to teach the girls to snorkel and ease into relaxation mode!

Now while we are in Kauai we have quite a few activities planned. I think our most anticipated day for me is the full-day Zip Line Safari where we will get to kayak, go hiking, ride zip lines and visit a swimming hole with a zip line similar to a rope swing! I’m very excited to see the kids zip lining. I think Zoie is going to love it, and Lexie will be a bit scared… but we’ll have to wait and see.

I have been getting tons of tips and suggestions from my friend John Bouyea at work. His family goes to Kauai often and I’m looking forward to trying out his favorite beaches including Tunnel Beach, Hanalei Bay and Ke’e Beach. I think the hardest part of all, will be just fitting all of the great activities and places that we want to go! Well… and paying for it all. Ha! I can’t wait to share my newest adventures with you soon.

Leave a Reply

