Adventures in Crocheting

Last year in May I asked my friend Linda Wu to give me lessons in crocheting. It was surprisingly easy for me to pick-up! After a quick tutorial on a lunch session I was crocheting away. Since then I have worked on almost 40 projects and log most of them on www.ravelry.com. Ravelry is a great crochet and knitting site that let’s you find patterns, join groups and swaps.

My first big project was a granny square blanket for my Lexie Lou. When she saw that I was going to make a practice blanket she demanded, in her oh so cute voice, that it be for her. How could I say no? Here is a picture of it finished.

Next up was a blanket for my Zoie. After learning some valuable lessons on Lexie’s blanket, I chose a much larger yarn and a nice airy pattern for this blanket. I love how it worked up and it’s very comfy to lay under.

A recent favorite that I made was a granny square apron. This was kind of a test run for me, as I’m organizing a crochet blanket charity raffle at my work. I needed to do some sample squares, and after I was done with those I decided to put them to work in this funky apron. I just love it! I found the pattern at http://tangledhappy.blogspot.com/. There are some really fun patterns there.

Maybe I’ll show some more pictures of my projects soon. I wanted to share my new favorite hobby.

 
Leave a Reply

