Peace (A Poem by Me)

So, I’m taking an English class to cover one of my last two undergrad classes before I get my AA (so excited to be almost done!), and I had to write a poem tonight for homework. At first I thought it was a stupid exercise, then well, I kind of got into it. I haven’t done a blog in forever, but I wanted to share this. The goal of the assignment was to use an abstract idea, mine was peace, and explain it without using the word. Here is my interpretation of peace.

Peace

 Simply sitting

Amongst

The trees

 Bees buzzing

Gathering

Sweet nectar

 Dragonflies diving

Skimming

Across water

 Sun slipping

Below

The hills

 Stars appearing

Twinkling

So faintly

 Crickets chirping

Loud

But unseen

 Laying back

Eyes

Closing softly

Leave a Reply

